Furyk Wins Again
By kickntrue on 4/19/10
Jim Furyk won for the 2nd time in 2010. While he was celebrating, I was trying to explain to my wife why Brian Davis had to assess himself a 2 stroke penalty. She couldn't fully grasp how lightly brushing a reed on a backswing gave Brian Davis a advantage.
Fortunately- Davis has already sealed his fate with his shot from the hazard and Furyk was going to win anyway. If Davis had hit the shot to about 3 feet- this would be a lot bigger deal today.
If you have no clue what I'm talking about...
Davis, an Englishman who’s never won on the PGA Tour, used a birdie on the 72nd hole to force the extra hole. However, Davis’ approach rolled off the green of the lighthouse hole and into some rocks.I feel it'd be unfortunate if I didn't at least give some time to the actual rule that got Davis in trouble. As the rule is written- it actually makes sense. It's more that this was a terrible example of the rule in action.
13-4. Ball in Hazard; Prohibited ActionsThe idea of the rule is that when in a hazard you cannot move objects behind the ball to give you a clean swing path (like you could outsize a hazard).
Oh well- like I said up top- Furyk was going to win anyway. Congrats to him and his family! I'm sure it's been a tough couple of years of Jim, to be competing at the highest level without breaking through with a win. His victory moves him to 2nd in the FedExCup standings and well on his way to a great 2010.
video of penalty
[ comments ]
no comments posted yet.
[ post comment ]